Dear guest, your feedback is very important to us and is more than welcome. Please email ( .
If you are not viewing this page from its parent site, please click here to visit the parent site titled "Facets of India : Ancient and Modern".
Obligatory Note: This matter is created/compiled by Sarvesh Aryavert from various authentic resources for the site titled "Facets of India : Ancient and Modern". Please feel free to link the page as it is, including this note, but strictly refrain from copying it as it may result in appropiate legal action.

"Where can we look for sages like those whose systems of philosophy were prototypes of those of Greece: to whose works Plato, Thales & Pythagorus were disciples? Where do I find astronomers whose knowledge of planetary systems yet excites wonder in Europe as well as the architects and sculptors whose works claim our admiration, and the musicians who could make the mind oscillate from joy to sorrow, from tears to smile with the change of modes and varied intonation?"

- Colonel James Todd(commenting on India)

Origin of Universes

inho mahat-srasta purusa -- `maha-visnu' nama
ananta brahmanda tanra loma-kupe dhama

gavakse udiya yaiche renu ase yaya
purusa-nisvasa-saha brahmanda bahiraya

punarapi nisvasa-saha yaya abhyantara ananta aisvarya tanra, saba--maya-para

"The first form of Lord Visnu is called Maha-Visnu. He is the original creator of the total material energy. The innumerable universes emanate from the pores of His body. These universes are understood to be floating in air as the Maha-Visnu exhales. They are like atomic particles that float in sunshine and pass through the holes of a screen. All these universes are thus created by the exhalation of Maha-Visnu, and when Maha-Visnu inhales, they return to His body. The unlimited opulences of Maha-Visnu are completeIy beyond material conception." (Caitanya-caritamrta, Madhya-lila 278-280), Bhagvadgita, Maha Vishnu is referred to as Purusha in Veda.

[Mahavishnu, Veda refer to HIM as Purusha, image from ISKCON]
anta rhitendriyarthaya
haraye vihitanjalih
sarva-bhutamayo visvam
sasarjedam sa purvavat

"On the disappearance of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, Hari, who is the object of transcendental enjoyment for the senses of devotees, Brahma, with folded hands, began to re-create the universe, full with living entities, as it was previously." (Srimad-Bhagavatam 2.9.39)

[At the end of 1000 Chaturyugi all universes are inhaled by Braham and after 1000 Chaturyugi these are again manifested  by HIM. image from ISKCON]

In Bhagvadgita Krishn tells the following-

At the end of 1000 Chaturyugi all the universes (all manifested and unmanifested entities) are merged in Brahm [ME] and after 1000 Chaturyugi these are again manifested by Brahm[ME]. Note- The duration of one Chaturyugi is equal to one day time in Brahm Lok (Brahm Time System).

Four Yugas(Ages) as per Hinduism

The idea is from Hinduism but this text is is taken from website.

"The duration of the material universe is limited. It is manifested in cycles of kalpas. A kalpa is a day of Brahma, and one day of Brahma consists of a thousand cycles of four yugas or ages: Satya, Treta, Dvapara and Kali. The cycle of Satya is characterized by virtue, wisdom and religion, there being practically no ignorance and vice, and the yuga lasts 1,728,000 years. In the Treta-yuga vice is introduced, and this yuga lasts 1,296,000 years. In the Dvapara-yuga there is an even greater decline in virtue and religion, vice increasing, and this yuga lasts 864,000 years. And finally in Kali-yuga (the yuga that we have now been experiencing over the past 5,000 years) there is an abundance of strife, ignorance, irreligion and vice, true virtue being practically nonexistent, and this yuga lasts 432,000 years. In Kali-yuga vice increases to such a point that at the termination of the yuga the Supreme Lord Himself appears as the Kalki avatara, vanquishes the demons, saves His devotees, and commences another Satya-yuga. Then the process is set rolling again. These four yugas, rotating a thousand times, comprise one day of Brahma, the creator god, and the same number comprise one night. Brahma lives one hundred of such "years" and then dies. These "hundred years" by earth calculations total to 311 trillion and 40 billion earth years. By these calculations the life of Brahma seems fantastic and interminable, but from the viewpoint of eternity it is as brief as a lightning flash. In the Causal Ocean there are innumerable Brahmas rising and disappearing like bubbles in the Atlantic. Brahma and his creation are all part of the material universe, and therefore they are in constant flux. In the material universe not even Brahma is free from the process of birth, old age, disease and death. Brahma, however, is directly engaged in the service of the Supreme Lord in the management of the universe--therefore he at once attains liberation. Elevated sannyasis are promoted to Brahma's particular planet, Brahmaloka, which is the highest planet in the material universe and which survives all the heavenly planets in the upper strata of the planetary system, but in due course Brahma and all the inhabitants of Brahmaloka are subject to death, according to the law of material nature." Bhagavad-gita 8:17 In Satya-yuga, the golden age, the principles of religion work fully. The average lifespan is a hundred thousand years, and self-realization is attained by prolonged meditation. In Treta-yuga, the silver age, the principles of religion are reduced by a fraction of one fourth. The average lifespan is ten thousand years, and self-realization is attained by performance of great sacrifices (yajnas). In Dvapara-yuga, the copper age, the principles of religion are reduced to one half. The average lifespan is one thousand years, and self-realization is attained by worship of the Lord in the temple. In Kali-yuga, the iron age, the principles of religion are reduced to one fourth, and gradually diminish to zero. The average lifespan is one hundred years, and self-realization is attained by hearing and chanting the names of the Lord.